Ever press Send on an e-mail and then instantly regret it because you saw a horrible typo a second too late? Thanks to Gmail, those moments can be a thing of the past now, as its Undo Send feature is finally making its entrance in the official setting menu.

Maybe you didn’t know, but Google has been perfecting the method for the last 6 years, a time the feature has spent in public beta. What happens is that Gmail delays sending the email for a few seconds after you have pressed Send, so you can take it back if you want to change something in it.

If you already had the Undo Send beta enabled in your settings, there’s nothing else you need to do; for the users who didn’t, now is the time to go to Settings and General tab: this feature is what you’ve been waiting for so long.

Following its launch in 2009, Undo Send would postpone sending the email for just five seconds. Google has worked on that and it now offers different times so users can choose to delay the email for 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds.

Google Labs comprises all the Gmail features that are still in the making and need improvement, but the company allows users to test the public beta services that aren’t ready yet to enter the official Google feature collection. Until now, Undo Send was a beta – and quite possibly the most popular of the mall – but it has finally made it in prime time.

There’s still some work to be done on Undo Send, however, as it currently is available only for desktop – so maybe you start sending all of your emails from desktop until Google will roll out the mobile version as well. The time of the release is yet to be confirmed by the company.

It is unclear why Undo Send took so long to get out of the public beta list, but knowing that Gmail has also spent 5 years in beta mode (from 2004 to 2009), it doesn’t seem so strange; Google is gaining a reputation of keeping its products and features in the oven for long test periods.
Image Source: Silicon Station